The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

The Great Pyrenees Mountain Dog was bred to work with shepherds and their flocks, not as a herder, but as a guardian. We are proud defenders of our charges, who are also usually white and just a little bit woollier than we are, or so I’m told. I’ve never actually seen a sheep….

Last March, I heard a truck come into our yard. I was very excited about it because it was someone I didn’t know. Not only that, but the truck started going down the hydro line! On our grass! Trucks aren’t supposed to do that! I wanted to go tell it to get back where it was supposed to be, but Elizabeth Grabbed my collar and I had to go into the house. I was a bit miffed. I hadn’t had many opportunities to show how good I could be at guarding, and I was just getting my voice in shape for the job, too!

I couldn’t see anything happening from inside. But I could hear the truck come around to the side of the house. Then I heard all kinds of strange noises: thumps and bumps and rumbling, clattering and tumbling sounds…. I was good though. I didn’t bark in the house. But I couldn’t help pacing and I pulled on Elizabeth’s hand a couple of times, “Come on! Something weird is going on out there! We should go check! What if Kay’s in trouble?” But she didn’t seem worried.

Two-leggers seem very incurious animals sometimes. I worry about them. How they’ve survived this long as a species is beyond me.

Then I heard the truck engine roar again. A minute or two later, I could see the top of it through the two-leggers’ eating room wall (They have a hole in it, but you can’t go through it. Weird, ’cause you can see through it…. It took a while for me to get used to these strange holes, but I like that I can see what’s going on through them).

Kay came in and after a bit, I was allowed to go out. Naturally, the first thing I did was to see what the invader had been up to. I followed it’s trail at top speed – easy… it was stinky. After it went past the big rock, it turned sharply toward the river, then once past that side of the rock, it turned again toward the house, and – HOLEY COOKIES! What was that!

Beside the two-leggers house and just in front of the big-stick house [woodshed] was a huge pile of big-sticks! Well, I thought they were big sticks. But one jumped off at me! That kinda spooked me. I saw Elizabeth standing on the walkway and I warned her that something strange was going on. She just stood there and watched me. I realised that I was going to have to address the problem myself…

I guess it was just a big-stick after all. I felt a little silly for making such a big noise about it. Elizabeth says it was a good practice run, anyway. Something about we learn through experience. I’m not sure what that means, exactly. All I know is that next time something unexpected happened, I made more effort to check the scene out, to figure out just what was going on before I got all excited about it.

Comments on: "Walk Softly with Big-Sticks" (6)

  1. Good for you, Stella! It’s good to be curious, and to protect Elizabeth. That’s your job! But keep the barking down. You just woke up my cat, Junior!

    Happy New Year, and may you have many more exciting moments in 2011.

    • What’s a cat? Is it white and woolly? Tell Junior I’m sorry, and I’ll try to be quieter next time! (Why is Junior sleeping during running time?)

      Happy New Year to you, too, Doreen! I like barking at the fireworks. Warn Junior…

  2. Hi Stella: Cats come in all shapes and sizes — just like dogs!

    For a look at Junior, and to learn more about patience, check out this post:
    http://doreenisthewizardofwords.blogspot.com/2010/05/writing-and-art-of-patience.html

    Enjoy the fireworks!
    Doreen.

  3. Stephanie Walters said:

    Love reading about Stella’s escapades!!! Please keep them coming. Elizabeth! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

