The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Bittersweet Day…

Today we went to see my pals at the Kenora Veterinary Clinic. I really like going there. I meet so many new two-leggers and other animals. There are always some dogs to meet and greet, too. Yep. The vet’s is one of the great social hubs of the region.

When we walked through the door: “Stelllahhh!” cried two voices in unison, “It’s been a whole month!” I went back behind the counter for an ear scratch and a cuddle. They give good hugs back there.

Then one of the assistants came out with a clipboard and called me and Elizabeth to go to the operating room. That’s where this raised metal bed with a thin rubber mat is. When I sit on it, they tell me how much I weigh. Last time I was in, Dr. Julie told me I was getting fat. I am NOT (That’s my wool that sways when I walk, not a jiggle!). I don’t like people saying I’m fat. I decided that if I put my paws on the floor today, I’d weigh less.

It almost worked.

When they realised I was cheating, they asked me to sit properly. Fair is fair, so I did. No one called me fat today though, even though I’ve gained two pounds since my last visit.

Jenn saw me as I was about to return to the waiting room. I pretended not to see her and walked through the swinging door. But I came back for a hug. I like Jenn, even if she did shave my bum that day (See Oh Dear, a Deer 2. The wool still hasn’t grown back fully, and she wonders why I give her a momentary cold shoulder!).

When we got back to the waiting room, the assistant called in the next patient to get weighed. She was a really cute little wispy-haired dog. When her owner came back, she said to Elizabeth, “She weighs 10 pounds!”

“Really? Stella is 96 today.”

They looked down at the two of us. “She doesn’t usually like big dogs,” said the little dog’s two-legger. “One really beat her up once.” I can’t imagine anyone wanting to beat up someone else. That’s just wrong. I really like little animals, and this little dog and I were getting along just fine. I had to say good-bye though when Dr. Roseanne called us to the examining room.

She took my lead from Elizabeth and we went back through the operating room (I sat down on the scales again to show the Dr. how good I was at it) to the x-ray room. Been there, done that, still hate it, but I’m a good girl. While they waited for the pictures to come up they also gave me a manicure. Dr. Roseanne told Elizabeth later that I had quite a set of talons on me….

The good news – and it is finally good news – my lungs are clear!

NO MORE BLASTO!

I was so happy! And then another thought struck me… No more blasto means no more big cheeseballs. I LOVE cheeseballs. Suddenly, I felt kinda sad.

A really lovely boxer named Athena came in from the other examining room then. She’d heard my news and stood up and gave me a quick right, left, right to the shoulder. I was a bit taken aback ’cause no one has ever done that to me before. But she was very friendly and playful, and we were good pals, too, by the time her two-legger was ready to take her home. She was really pretty; she should be in one of those dog food ads! I hope we meet again some day.

Kay came to pick us up, and I said good-bye to the girls behind the counter. They told me not to be sad… they were sure I’d be back again, soon!

I don’t know why, but Elizabeth gave them a funny look when they said that, and they laughed….

Comments on: "Bittersweet Day…" (2)

  1. Oh, Stella!!! No more BLASTO !! That’s WONDERFUL!!! YAY for YOU!!!!! (Hint: I imagine that your two-legger just MIGHT give you a non-Blasto cheeseball every once in awhile if you’ll shine those adoring eyes on her and ask politely.) 😉 So happy for you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

