The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Frustration!

Last week a cold snap set in, so Elizabeth and Kay let me sleep inside.

I have mixed feelings about this kind of situation. I enjoy being with my two-leggers. I really like being able to leap up onto Elizabeth’s bed and curling up to her. At the same time, I like being outside. I like my den of a house, and I really feel like I can do my guarding job better from there. I can see things better, hear them and smell them better. And if I can’t chase them away from the confines of my Run, intruders can hear me when I tell them where to go – just like I’m right on their tails – if we’re all outside at the same time. Wild critters just don’t give me the same respect when I’m inside and they’re out.

But there are nights when it’s so cold that my paw pads hurt and I let the two-leggers keep me inside with them.

The first night wasn’t too bad, except I was a bit embarrassed when I had to get Elizabeth up to take me outside to do my business at 3:30 a.m. It was -37C in the wind. I didn’t mind so much, but I think she found it a bit too cold.

The second night, news had got around that I was in with the two-leggers. Wouldn’t you know it but about midnight, I could hear someone out there taking advantage. Those rascals! I began to bark to let my two-leggers know someone was out there taking advantage of them.

“Stella! SHHHH!” says Elizabeth.

“GRRRRUFF! WOOF! GRRRRR…!” There’s somebody out there, you silly two-legger! Don’t tell me to be quiet! Let me out! Let me out and I’ll take care of them! “WOOF! WOOF!”

It’s frustrating. Elizabeth says she can feel the house vibrate when I growl and bark. That may be. But the world outside seems to know that even though I sound tough, there’s nothing more I can do from inside the two-legger house than make the air rumble.

Elizabeth called me into her room so she could make me quiet down. I know when I’m beaten. I curled up beside her and pretended to sleep. All the while, I could hear them out there, and a little growl would escape through the gap in my bottom front teeth from time to time as I listened helplessly.

At three o’clock, I just couldn’t take it anymore. “GRRRRRWUFF! WOOF! WOOF!”

“Stella,” my two-legger groaned, completely oblivious to what was going on outside, “SHUT UP! Please! I need to sleep!”

I realised then that sneaky deer can’t actually come in and get us inside the two-legger house. They may make a mess outside, but they can’t actually hurt us when we’re inside. I let it go. In the morning I’d have the last laugh at my two-leggers, I guessed. Would have loved to teach those sneaky deer a lesson, though…. And they were right there! Right there beside Elizabeth’s see-through wall hole! Can’t believe she doesn’t realise they’re there….

She let me out – finally – at 5:30 a.m. She says it was -33C without the windchill factored in. I admit it was brisk. I didn’t stay out long, but I investigated the situation outside carefully. I came in again at six.

By 7:30 it was light enough out that my two-leggers could see that I wasn’t just barking at the wind. While I was out again at 9:30, Elizabeth took some pictures, first through her window so you can see how close the sneaky deer came, and then through the garden fence, the supports of which are four feet apart, so you could see how big their scrapes really are! They did some more in the front yard, too. Cheeky beggars….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments on: "Frustration!" (4)

  1. Siggy marchant said:

    I love your blog Stella…..we are leaving Mexico March 2 and should be home March 15, I can´t wait to get home Its too hot here and too many fireworks, they make me scared and I have to hide in the closet…I haven´t been in the ocean as it tastes yucky and I always swallow some….bark at you soon your dog friend Siggy

  2. I like your concept! Very cool. Keep up the great work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud