The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Ploughing Snow

We’re finally getting some real snow, snow that’s staying, snow that’s deepening, snow that’s making me earn my chow!

Last week we had a real dump of the fluffy white stuff, except it wasn’t so fluffy. Elizabeth says it was like compacting icing sugar (whatever…), and we got several centimeters of it. There was so much of it that Kay couldn’t drive her car out one morning. I missed my ride, but Elizabeth took me for a couple of good walks.

Our first walk was in the morning when she came to let me out of my run. We ran part way up the hill, but Elizabeth got tired so we had to stop for a minute before she’d let me pull her at a fast walk. It was wonderful. We were the first creatures out and it was fun making tracks for everyone else to smell for a change!

The view through the livingroom wall hole after our last big snow.

The view through the two-leggers' living room wall hole after our last big snow.

When we go for our morning walk, Elizabeth takes me to the end of our driveway on the silly red leash, then she lets me off the lead to run around a bit and to have a little privacy, if you know what I mean. I stay pretty close, just in case she needs me or decides to call me for a bit of cookie. I like my cookies. I do. Sometimes when we get back to the house, I go in for breakfast, other times I like to stay out for a bit and make sure the wild beasts are where they belong. Today was a breakfast day. I wanted to get it out of the way ’cause I had quite a list of things to do….

After breakfast, I let Elizabeth know that I would like to go outside. She and Kay were eating their breakfast, and they wanted me to lie down and wait. Two-leggers seem to like to dawdle over their food. I don’t understand this. I love my food (theirs often tastes pretty good, too). But if you’re going to get everything done in a day, then you’ve got to get it eaten! And on a day like today… Well, time’s a wastin’!

Elizabeth insisted I wait.

I insisted I go out.

Elizabeth insisted I wait. She put me in the hall.

I started to moan. That usually works. They think I need, er… some privacy.

Elizabeth ignored me. -:o|=

I moaned some more. A little louder.

Finally, Elizabeth came and put me on the silly red leash, put on her boots and took me out.

I looked at her. What? C’mon. We did this thing already! I’ve got important stuff to do! I grabbed the leash and began shaking it, tossing my head back and forth.

Sometimes, Elizabeth gets really stubborn. She’s not stupid. Just really stubborn.

All right. If that’s the way she wants to play it. I decided to take her on my rounds.

At first, she was all right with that. I took her down my regular paths. Then I decided it was time to go off-road, as you two-leggers say. And that’s when the trouble started.

Elizabeth couldn’t keep up. Well, that’s hardly a surprise, is it? She fell once and started flailing around. The leash started getting wrapped around trees. She made me wait while she got it sorted out. Then she decided – I told you, she’s stubborn – to go back to the two-legger house. With me.

I had a thing or two to be made known about that. I nipped her where two-leggers seem to feel it the most. She yelped, turned on me and let me have it. She hauled me into the house.

I began to moan….

This time, it worked… eventually.

I saw her, later, standing in the living room, watching me through the wall hole. I think she finally understood. I just wanted to get out and run through the snow. I had to open up all my patrol routes and mark them so that wily wolf and his pal would know, when they finally got around to starting their day, that this is my space and that they’re to stay away from my two-leggers!

Later Elizabeth explained to me how worried she is about me with those wily wolves hanging around. She also told me she was a bit concerned that I might have a bladder infection.

Honestly. Two-leggers. I’ve said it before. I’ll say it again: I don’t know how they’ve survived this long as a species!

Comments on: "Ploughing Snow" (2)

  1. It seems like you’re still deep in the winter season. Today the temperature here already tipped 21C. Spring is on its way. 😉

    • We’re having a freakish warming spell right now, Malou… It’s raining today, and by mid week the forecast says it will be up to 18C. That should crash some records! We’ve lost a lot of snow over the weekend… ~:o(=

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

