The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Taking it Easy…

This week has held a mixture of both good and bad for me.

My leg hurts. Licking it isn’t helping. The pain seems to come and go, but when it’s on, it really hurts.

Yesterday, I felt so awful that I couldn’t bring myself to eat anything more than my chicken ball. I never turn away from food – well, not since I had blasto. So Elizabeth took me in to see my friends at the Kenora Veterinary Clinic.

Dr. Celia had a good look at me. She couldn’t find anything wrong with my leg. But I had a fever, and I was looking pretty miserable. She thinks maybe I have blasto again, and kept me with her all day to do some testing.

I could tell Elizabeth was really upset by what Dr. Celia had to say. Blastomycosis is pretty intense, especially in the early stages, and she has to keep bringing me back to the vets’ for tests and for pictures of my insides and really expensive blasto-killing pills…. It takes about eight months to treat.

We’ll know next week what the test results are.

When we went home, I did my best to make her feel better. I went straight to my food and ate it all up. The effect on Elizabeth was amazing. You’d have thought she was the one who hadn’t eaten all day the way she perked up! I didn’t feel all that much better for eating, myself. But the food gave me the energy I needed to jump up onto Elizabeth’s bed to cuddle with her for a while as she read (she’s reading about growing two-legger food, these days – the results of reading such books smell much better than the books themselves do).

When time came round for my evening chicken ball and bedtime treats, I really didn’t want to leave her bed. I gave my best “Oh, I feel too awful to move, please let me stay…” look. I even let my head fall over the edge of the bed and hang – the “I think I’m maybe already dead” look. Neither worked too well. Elizabeth seems to think she needs more space on her bed than she has when I’m there. Especially if she’s planning to sleep. And, she says, I snore.

But there was good news waiting for us outside! And even more of it when I woke up this morning! I got Elizabeth to take some pictures this morning so we could share it with you… Isn’t it wonderful? The snow came back! ~:oD=

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments on: "Taking it Easy…" (9)

  1. Good to see you eating and going outside in the snow. I hope you feel better soon without all those expensive pills. 🙂

  2. Wiggy hopes you are feeling better soon, we had our first boat ride today. When all the ice is gone we will ride over….

    Dog hugs Siggy

  3. Glad you are enjoying the return of the snow. I wonder if Elizabeth feels the same way? We had a bit of snow fall where I am, but none of it stayed on the ground or trees. HOpe your pills help you feel better, Stella. It’s not fun for Elizabeth to be so worried about you and not fun for you, either!

    • I never thought to ask her. Come to think of it, she had a rather peculiar look on her face this morning when she looked out at her initial work on the balcony garden… ~:o/=

  4. coconnor said:

    Any news on Stella? We’re praying for her …

    • Thank you, Cathy! Your prayers are working! Stella is doing much better. We’re very busy with visitors and spring garden/yard work, so I haven’t had much time to write. Will update in detail soon, though…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

