The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Season’s Greetings, friends!

I’m late (again) and with only one post this week… It isn’t my fault, though. My scribe has been very busy and unable to sit and write with me.

First, it was the furnace. The furnace man came into the bookshop to do the annual maintenance and check on Friday last week. He found something bad – a crack in the furnace mechanism in the room where Elizabeth does most of her work. It was bad enough that the furnace man had to shut it down. He said she might not leave the shop again if he didn’t! -:o(=

Well, over the weekend, it was relatively warm out, so the room didn’t get too terribly cold. Elizabeth put on a lot more two-legger fur every morning, though, just to keep warm through the day. Two-leggers, as I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, can’t take the cold as well as we Great Newfenees can.

On Monday, the furnace store two-leggers phoned to tell Elizabeth that they couldn’t get a new furnace installed until Thursday. Tuesday the temperatures started to dive into the minus teens, and even colder at night. By Thursday, she was really glad to see the two-leggers with her new furnace! I had to stay at home, though. It was a bit too busy and crowded for me. But Elizabeth tells me I would have thrived in the cold. The two-leggers installing the furnace were always opening the door and letting the winter air in, and since the building is built on a hill, and the room concerned is at the top of the hill, and the gas had to be shut off for the installation…. The whole building filled up with frigid air from Hennepin Lane!

Then the toilet in the upstairs apartment flooded and the water came through the ceiling.

Then the bookshop website crashed. Elizabeth still can’t work on it. This makes her a bit cranky with Christmas and Year End just days away. She’s trying very hard to be positive, but it must be hard. Last night she snapped at me when I tried to counter surf for a divinely scented piece of goat cheddar she wanted to have with her soup. She never snaps at me. Well… not very often. We made up fast, though. I lay down on her feet and warmed them up; they were cold after her day in the frigid shop. That cheered her up some.

I've been practicing toe-warming for most of my life. Consequently, I'm very good at it.

I’ve been practicing toe-warming for most of my life. Consequently, I’m very good at it.

My week, though, has been just great! And I had to share my good news with you – all my Tail Thumper of the Week fans, in particular. This week I sold a copy of Tail Thumper of the Week #12. Even better, I’ve now sold a dozen Book Paws for my homeless friends at It’s a Dog’s Life! Sugar, wherever you are, you were right! I just needed to pawsevere!

I know that isn’t a lot, but it’s enough to buy some healthy treats for a couple of my pals. It makes me so glad to think that they will be thumping their tails because of something we’ve been able to do for them.

Thank you, Tail Thumper Supporters! God bless us, everyone! (Elizabeth says that’s a famous quote from an old Christmas book by an author who was very concerned about the welfare of his less fortunate two-leggers, so I thought it appropriate.)

Merry Christmas! ~:oP=

Comments on: "Thumpity Thump Thump…" (2)

  1. Have a wonderful holiday!!!! woo woo woo!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

