The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

It’s a Sign!

Thursday, after I put in a hard day’s work at the bookshop, Kay came to take Elizabeth and I home.

It hadn’t been a busy day, but I was tired. And a bit bored. Elizabeth’s two-legger friend Shelley came by and they sat and talked about producing TV shows. I was drifting in and out of the conversation. They’re up to something, though. I could tell they were plotting….

But all that lying around waiting for people to come in on a day when it’s -30 something with the windchill is a tiresome business. Sensible two-leggers stay indoors on days like that. They don’t come out to shop for books!

So, when Kay came to get us, I was excited to be going home.

As it turned out, we took a minor detour. Elizabeth saw a sign she wanted to show me. I don’t know why. I can’t read.

Kay turned into the parking lot, circled around it and pointed the nose of the growly beast at the sign. Elizabeth got out of the car, fished around for the pocket of her coat liner where she had her camera, pulled out that piece of equipment and snapped a photo. She got into the car to find Kay laughing. “Poor Bud!” Kay exclaimed.

But what does it mean?~ Wilkie Collins

“But what does it mean?”
~ Wilkie Collins

Bud? Where? I jumped up and looked out all the windows, but I couldn’t see him anywhere.

Kay pulled out onto the highway and I settled down into my second favourite position in the growly beast: I sit on the back seat, put my front paws one on either side of the centre hump in the floor and rest my chin on the console between the resting arms of Kay and Elizabeth. I just feel close to both of them that way. It’s kinda comforting.

When we got home, Elizabeth uploaded her photo to the computer.

“What does it say?” I asked.

She read it to me.

I didn’t quite know what to think. Upon consideration, only one interpretation seemed logical. Lovely as ribs with Bud in a cozy restaurant full of friendly two-leggers sounded, I know dogs are persona non grata in restaurants. I quickly discarded the most horrible interpretation possible: two-leggers around here don’t eat dogs, so Bud couldn’t be on the menu! There was only one other possible meaning: Somehow, the people at Casey’s had advance knowledge that Bud was coming on Friday.

Nothing ever bums out Justin. He's always got a smile on his face.

Justin’s always got a smile on his face. Wish I could be a bit more like him… but I’m missing Bud

I spent Friday watching Al’s and Joanne’s house carefully whenever I was outside.

The only sign of Bud was at Casey’s.

They must have realized their mistake because Friday afternoon when we went to pick Elizabeth up from work, Kay read me the new sign they’d put up: Sunday Prime Rib. I went home and played with Justin for a while. Nothing ever seems to phase him.

Comments on: "It’s a Sign!" (14)

  1. Renée de Bruin said:

    Wonderful story!

  2. Kathy DeGagné said:

    A sad but wonderful Bud story! Sorry I didn’t get to see you when I was home at Christmas…I had flu for a week, and in the meantime Dad went into the hospital. I hope you got my email on that. Arrived back in Israel yesterday—21°C today but back down tomorrow.
    Kathy

  3. Sorry you haven’t seen Bud in a while, Stella. Hope the temperatures warm up so there will be more activity in the bookstore. 🙂

    • Too cold outside today, even for me, so I came to work with Elizabeth. Apparently two-leggers feel the same way. I think Elizabeth and I are the only ones in town today. Certainly no one has braved the cold to come see us!

  4. catfromhell said:

    We just read about yous on Clowie’s Blog! We thought we would stop by and say HI!
    Kisses
    Nellie

  5. Hi Stella! We are stopping over from Clowie’s blog! It’s so nice to meet you and all you Newfeness!

  6. How fun would it be to work in a bookshop…..I just wrote about a bookshop at my blog. I have a super hard time resisting books, even if it’s -30….good grief that’s really bad.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

