The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

This week’s book really got my tail thumping when Elizabeth showed it to me. There is nothing a dog loves more than spending quality time with two-leggers – well, maybe spending time with other dogs. But that’s only because we tend to find that we don’t need to work as hard to be understood by our dog friends. We can relax better with them and just be ourselves.

Click picture to buy the book & support Kenora's homeless dogs!

Click to buy the book & support Kenora’s homeless dogs!

You two-leggers really need to take a look at today’s book: Canine Sports & Games: Great Ways to Get Your Dog Fit and Have Fun Together! I’ve noticed that a lot of dogs and their two-leggers tend to be, well, a bit… well, portly. We all love to sit and cuddle. Perhaps we like it a bit too much…. And that’s not difficult to understand when the temperatures dip down into the -30C range. But really, that doesn’t happen all that often, even here. I know Elizabeth sits down an awful lot to do her work. That’s how it goes. And she’s tired at the end of a working day. I know she feels much better when we go for a walk after work though; it seems to rejuvenate her.

And I really need to get out for a good walk or two every day. My patrols help me to keep in shape. It would be far more fun if I could do them with Elizabeth. However, I’ve come to realise that I have more energy than she ever will. So, what can we do together that addresses the exercise requirements of both of us and gives us that quality time together that also means so much to both of us? Both dogs and humans benefit so much from each other’s company. Doing stuff together helps reduce our stress and keep us mentally healthy, too!

That’s where this book, Canine Sports & Games will be a big help! There are all kinds of easy to engage in games to sophisticated competition sports for dogs and two-leggers to do together here. Some things they talk about, like carting or draught training, may require more detailed training manuals than the minimal instruction that Canine Sports provides. Others, like Daring Dock Jumping, can be extremely fun at the most basic level (I must get Elizabeth to help me learn this one. We can use Al’s & Joanne’s dock next door!). There are Amazing Agility, Herding, Tracking (I’d be good at that, too!), Digging games, Flyball, Skijoring (my sister Dakota learned how to do that) and Swimming….

Canine Sports & Games helps two-leggers learn which sports and activities are best for them and their dog companions. It also outlines how to make sure your dog stays safe and free from injury when engaging in these activities – and that’s very important! It explains different levels and competitions two-leggers and their dog friends might engage in if they find their sport really engrossing; maybe they’d like to meet others who enjoy playing the same way, too.

If you’d like to buy Canine Sports & Games and support Kenora’s homeless dogs at the same time (now that’s a grrreat deal!), click any of the links above or the book photo, and I will donate my commission to It’s a Dog’s Life, Kenora’s dog fostering network! Check out my other Tail Thumpers, too… Elizabeth will see that my commission on them (or the entire amount of any of my Book Paws anytime) gets to dogs in need if you buy any of them here before March 31.

Comments on: "Tail Thumper of the Week #15" (2)

  1. That book sounds interesting. I think it’s very important to get bipeds to exercise as much as possible. I like to get mine to play football. I have a really big ball with a handle so, if it looks like they’re winning, it’s easy for me to run off with the ball. I enjoy digging, but I haven’t seen any bipeds that are any good at it.

    • Oh, I wish I had a ball like that!
      I try to be discrete about my digging. So far, Elizabeth thinks my holes are made by a skunk after grubs… Ooohhh… I guess I shouldn’t have got her to write that….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

