The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

One of the hazards of life on the edge of the Boreal Forest… especially if you’re woolly like I am! I do my best to get rid of them myself, but I always end up needing a helping hand. They prickle something awful!

These things depress me.

These things depress me.

I scratch at them, I try to roll them off, I even dive into the snow trying to freeze them off.

I scratch at them, I try to roll them off, I even dive into the snow trying to freeze them off.

The end result is always the same.... Elizabeth must help me get rid of them.

The end result is always the same…. Elizabeth must help me get rid of them.

Ouch! You're pulling my wool!

Ouch! You’re pulling my wool!

That's this outing's harvest. Burdoch seeds and my wool pulling them all together. Another form of Dog Art?

That’s this outing’s harvest. Burdock seeds and my wool pulling them all together. Another form of Dog Art?

Comments on: "Weed Whacking Wednesday" (20)

  1. Oh noes:-( You sure picked up a lot in your lovely furs

    • It happens with some regularity. The deer have brought this weed in, and once it’s established it is really difficult to get rid of. All wool aside!

  2. Renée de Bruin said:

    Oh, yes, we call it Klis over here, and the plant spreads itself by clinging to the coat of animals, amongst others. The root is good for you! I feel for you, poor thing.

  3. Poor Stella! That looks painful! It’s a good thing you are so patient, so Elizabeth can get those nasty burrs out of your beautiful fur.

    • It’s very irritating. Elizabeth and Kay often laugh at the different ways I try to get them out of my wool. I don’t think it’s funny at all…

  4. Ouchies! We don’t have stuff like that here, and boy are we glad – – I bet it did not feel good when your furries was pulled when they were being removed! Yikes! But glad you have a good Mommy who helps you out in situations like this!

    • She does her best but it still pulls sometimes! Lucky you not to have any. Did you see Reneé’s comment? This burdoch stuff even grows in France!

      • Renée de Bruin said:

        But I go to France in the summer, and I’ll take a look! I let you know!

      • BOL! My scribe tells me that the man who owned the ‘estate’ before her family had a Dutch wife. Maybe she brought them with her from Holland to remind her of home.

    • Hmm… Thinking about that, I’m not sure Renée is from France – I just assumed that because of her name…

      • Renée de Bruin said:

        Haha. Yes, my name is French, and my middle name is Saskia, which is Dutch, and that’s what I am, Dutch and living in The Netherlands!

      • Oh! Elizabeth says that the Netherlands are very interesting – that they should be underwater but your farmers have built dams just like the beavers here do. Only difference is your dams keep water out and beavers’ dams keep water in! That is so cool!

  5. Oh ouch. Mom did a good job helping you outta that one.

  6. Surely there’s a way to profit from this misery…. perhaps go for a religious angle!

  7. Ugh! Those are 😦 ! The best/easiest way is just to cut the fur, but you might look a little funny if you have a lot of them!

    • I’d rather Elizabeth comb them out than cut them. It doesn’t take that long. And I’m a bit of a Sampson…. Shave my wool and I lose my self esteem completely! ~:o(=

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

