The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

I’ve noticed a lot of my pals have been writing about hide & seek and Easter Bunnies hiding eggs and chocolate the last few days. Well, I’ve had a very busy couple of weeks here on the Campbell Estate and I’ve missed out on all that fun.

The Estate was invaded by those bad boys, the Wiley Wolf Pack.

Before you read further, Elizabeth says this post has some gruesome elements, so read on with discretion!

Those Wiley guys really keep me busy. I don’t like having them around. They haven’t got much respect, and I’m afraid that they might move in on my two-leggers one day when I’m busy somewhere else. They aren’t very friendly, if you get my drift….

And they’re always leaving messes for me to clean up.

Actually, that’s only a half complaint. I kind of don’t mind cleaning up their messes. But their messes have a less savoury aspect… they attract a lot of characters I would also rather not have around: big white-headed black flappers, croaking black flappers and cawing black flappers now that they’re back.They’re noisy, noisy, noisy, and they do their business wherever they happen to be, without any regard for anyone who happens to be in the way, gravitationally speaking.

Black flappers are really hard to chase away. They work in teams. I’ll be busy cleaning up the mess the Wiley Wolves have left, and one of those scoundrel flappers will hop up behind me and pull a bone away. And while I chase that flapper off, three or four more will move in and steal anything they can dig their beaks and talons into. They will carry it off and dump it somewhere else when they’ve finished with it, leaving me with even more cleaning up to do than the Wiley Wolves left, and with less meat to pick at by then, too!

So, the Wiley Boys killed a Sneaky Deer at the end of our bay. They ate what they wanted, then moved on, leaving the carcass right there on the ice! My two-leggers draw their drinking water from very near the spot, so it was imperative that I get the area completely sanitized.

Eventually, I decided I was wasting my time chasing the flappers. I worked harder at dismembering the remains and carrying them off to my own hiding places, where I could enjoy them at my leisure. Wild meat is always better if it hangs a little, you know….

It took several trips, but I’m better equipped to move large portions than the flappers, so I did pretty well.

This was all I could find of my deer head trophy. Now this is gone, too....

This was all I could find of my deer head trophy. Now this is gone, too….

First the head, which I hid in the woodshed. I think. I may be wrong, ’cause I can’t find it in there now. Then I removed the legs one at a time. For some reason, I can only find two of them now. And I’m not telling where I put them. I think You Know Who is finding them and taking them away to a place I won’t find them [Scribal interjection: Who, me?]. I know she got the spine, hips and ribs, which I was able to get up all in one piece in my last trip through the woods. That was hard work. I was so tired after that one that I just tucked that piece under the front of Kay’s Growly Beast until I’d rested a bit. When I went back for it, You Know Who’s scent was all over the area and I couldn’t find my prize anywhere!

I even got some meltwater to sluice down and give the area a wash. Pretty thorough, eh?

I even got some meltwater to sluice down and give the area a wash. Pretty thorough, eh?

Oh, well. I enjoyed what I was able to glean. And I think you’ll agree when I show you a picture of how the kill site looks now (Elizabeth says it wouldn’t be nice to show the before scene; she wouldn’t take a picture for me.  -:o/=  Whose blog is this, anyway?).

The Inspector found this, but I think she's pulling hairs, don't you?

The Inspector found this, but I think she’s splitting hairs, don’t you?

Comments on: "Caching in on the Hide & Seek Movement" (8)

  1. Siggy marchant said:

    I think the Flappers dropped a bit of the spine bones by my place…..I enjoyed chewing on it…Siggy

    • Thanks for dealing with that for me Siggy! Glad it came your way and you could enjoy it. You Know Who just picks them up and they disappear forever. Two-leggers lack the refinement necessary to appreciate such delicacies, I think. Yet I see Kay boiling bones to make two-legger food called ‘soup’. Can’t quite figure them out….

  2. I think you did an excellent job of clearing up! Those flapping creatures appear as soon as there is anything of interest around – they have very keen eyesight as well as an excellent sense of smell.

  3. I think you did a brilliant job – I do hope you got the proper thanks for all your hard work?!

    • Basil, I am so glad you appreciate the effort. Another one of my legs disappeared this morning. I knew I should have hid it last night when Elizabeth called me to go for a ride… I’m beginning to think that rides are deliberately mixed blessings!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

