The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Woeful Wednesday…

Watching for Spring

Another bite of Dog Poetry: this experiment in free verse by Yours Truly, Stella the Great Newfenees and Bookshop Dog.

I love Winter.

I love the snow.

I love the cold.

I love everything about this season…

We were made for each other.

Great Newfenees Tracks


But everywhere I go now,

everywhere I turn,

I notice things are changing.

The river’s edge is softening.

Paws soak up shoreline slush.

Feels unpleasant.

Feels unsafe.


On Sunday,

it was Easter.

And Winter?

Just a whitecap

breaking on time’s strand.

Found some Spring

Comments on: "Woeful Wednesday…" (14)

  1. Renée de Bruin said:

    Dear Stella and Elizabeth, what a wonderful duo of poets you are! Thank you.

    • Oh, do you like it? Thank you, Renée. It makes my tail thump when my musings bring pleasure to others. Elizabeth (she’s smiling over your comment, too) took the pictures when I wasn’t looking!

  2. What a great post! Loved that last photo!

  3. Stella the Great Newfenees poet laureate of blogsville. Many wag wags and BOL for your wonderful poem. We all loved it. Max, Bella, and biped mom

  4. Meows to you, Stella (and Elizabeth)! I love your poems. 🙂
    – Salem

    • Thanks Salem. I bet you’re loving the snow’s retreat. Can you see ground yet in Winterpeg? I just love that name: Winterpeg – like winter is hung there forever….

      • Unfortunately, we still have about two feet of snow – and that’s in our south-facing front yard where the sun (sometimes) shines! Susan posted pictures on her blog that she took of the yard on Easter Saturday. You’d be in dog heaven, Stella! 🙂

      • Ooh.. I missed that post. I’ll go in and check it out!

  5. I love your poem and the trail of paw prints!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

