The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

It’s been a busy summer in our area of Northwestern Ontario. Especially on the weekends.

I don’t know what it is about two-leggers around here. All week long they are somewhere else. Then they come back on Friday nights and Saturday mornings. They bang around, get their wood-eating or grass-chewing whining/buzzing machines going, roar around the river on their floating tin cans and water skimming devices…

GRRRWOWFF! It makes me tired and headachey just thinking about it.

Yep. All week long they’re somewhere else (thank goodness) then on the weekend they come out and say how lovely it is out here.

~:o/=

Don’t get me wrong. I like two-leggers. Most of the ones I’ve met, anyway. And most of them out here get along with me just fine. But they can be so… so… disruptive!

Elizabeth says that when they came here almost 45 two-legger years ago, there were only three houses out this way, and five little cottages scattered further west of us. Now there are more than 50 houses along the road! She says that there have been many environmental consequences to this colonisation. I don’t doubt it. I’ve noticed quite a few in the 28 dog-years I’ve lived here.

I noticed one incredible one this morning on our walk. Thousands of another type of colonist have moved into a new development right here on our estate! And BWOWF! Talk about environmental impact… These guys put the two-leggers to shame!

Unwelcome Colonists Create Reverse Oasis on Campbell Estate

Unwelcome Colonists Create Reverse Oasis on Campbell Estate

Comments on: "Colonization of the Neighbourhood" (7)

  1. Holy moly! Is that an ant hill? They give my two-legged what she calls the Heebie-Jeebies! She once told me how she stepped on a smaller ant hill while blueberry picking and had the little beggars crawling all over her! I’ve often watched the small critters wandering along the sidewalk, but I’d hate to see as many as would be in that pile in the photo!

    Yes, it is amazing how an area can fill up with two-leggeds’ dwellings. I can see the changes, even here in the city. Buildings crop up where there had been only grass.

    I understand about how the busyness of the two-leggeds can give pets like us serious headaches – and heartaches. I hate it when my two-leggeds leave me alone in the house, or when they rush around the house beforehand. Watching them gather things together, like Susan did on Friday to prepare for her weekend event, is definitely tiring. You should have seen all the stuff she carried out of the house! I have no idea what all she had in those wheely carriers, but it must have been a lot! She was huffing and puffing as she dragged them up the stairs to the four wheeled beast in the garage.

    Take care, Stella. 🙂

    Your friend, Salem

    • Yum. I love blueberries. Hard to find around here ’cause the sneaky deer eat them while they’re still green! ~:o|=

      Did all the stuff come back into the house with Susan when she came back? Two-leggers are always moving things back and forth… have you noticed? Must be some sort of compulsive-obsessive disorder…

      • Actually, Stella, I think she brought home even MORE stuff, if that’s possible. She said she bought some ‘specials’ they were offering, whatever THAT means! To me it’s all bits of paper and shiny stuff I simply don’t understand, although I do have fun with her ribbon. Sometimes she lets me play with it and sometimes she gets mad if I do.

      • Oh, I so know what you mean. My two-leggers usually let me have something if it falls on the floor. But a couple of days ago, a white oval thing fell off the kitchen counter, and when I picked it up, Kay nearly had a nasty cat fit (oh, sorry, Salem…) Elizabeth put me out of the house in disgrace, but when I realised it was something important to them, I dropped it right away. I just don’t understand sometimes…

    • Oh, and yes, that’s an ant hill, Salem.

  2. That looks like an ant city. They have been busy!
    We live somewhere fairly remote and more people arrive at weekends. Some of them say they love the quiet and then play on quad bikes, the sound carries for miles! Two-leggers can be hard to understand, Stella.

    • You’ve got it, Clowie. We have some neighbours who moved out to “be closer to nature”. Then the next thing you know, there are bear traps by driveways and trappers setting up beaver traps and people shooting the wolves. If they’d just let me know they’re having a problem, I’d be happy to go over and help them establish some parameters. ~:o/=

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

