The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

I’m really enjoying the first days of autumn. Elizabeth really loves this season. She says that’s because the temperatures are fresh, the ground is pretty dry and there aren’t any biting insects. I like it for all those reasons, too, especially since they are all the reasons our walks begin to take on a distinctly ‘off-road’ quality.

It's really beautiful in some of the marshy areas when the sun comes up. At least, it is from Elizabeth's point of view.

It’s really beautiful in some of the marshy areas when the sun comes up. At least, it is from Elizabeth’s point of view.

It looks a little different from my perspective....

It looks a little different from my perspective….

A very strangely formed old dead Jack Pine we found. Elizabeth says she used to climb it when she was a two-legger pup.

A very strangely formed old dead Jack Pine we found. Elizabeth says she used to climb it when she was a two-legger pup.

I pointed out how lovely the light was through these Bur Oak leaves and Elizabeth took a photo for me.

I pointed out how lovely the light was through these Bur Oak leaves and Elizabeth took a photo for me.

Then we crawled under some dead Juniper to take this picture. Elizabeth's ponytail got tangled up (she has even longer wool than I do). What fun!

Then we crawled under some dead Juniper to take this picture of a Sarsaparilla. Elizabeth’s ponytail got all tangled up in the juniper…(she has even longer wool than I do). What fun!

These fungi grow on living trees, too, but I liked the way this one on a fallen birch log looked.

These fungi grow on living trees, too, but I liked the way this one on a fallen birch log looked.

Well, Elizabeth’s back was getting sore from being down at my level on our walk, so we went home. I think she enjoyed seeing things from my point of view, though. “Always a good idea to take life from a different perspective once in a while,” she said.
We walked down the hill to the house, she took a picture of her carrot pots and took her time walking down the wooden walkway to the house while I thumped my tail impatiently on the door. I was getting hungry.
“Oh, look at this Stella!” The word ‘look’ generally indicates something interesting is happening, or sometimes, that something tasty is lying on the ground, so I rushed over to where she was. “There’s a bee in my sunflower!”
Oh.
I couldn’t see it from my angle, so she took another picture.

It's like another kind of sunrise! That bee must be in heaven, BOL.

It’s like another kind of sunrise! That bee must be in heaven, BOL.

Comments on: "Wonderful, Woodsy Wednesday!" (10)

  1. The photographs are lovely. The weather is changing here. It’s cooled down enough for the insects to be trying to move indoors for the winter!

  2. Thanks for sharing your wonderful photos with me. Fall is great!

  3. Such beautiful photos. Autumn is a lovely time of year (it means winter is coming – yay!)

  4. Beautiful photographs! Definitely Fall has arrived! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

