The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

This morning when Elizabeth came to get me for our morning walk, it was really hard to see. Clouds were hugging the ground. I could hear the long-necked flappers honking to each other (they sounded oddly dense and muffled), but I couldn’t see them. I could smell the forest creatures no problem, but I’ve noticed that Elizabeth never uses her nose. She relies far too much on sight. So, when we headed off into the fog, I was concerned for her safety.

Elizabeth was completely oblivious. The fog so befuddled her that she walked off in the opposite direction to where we usually go. I rushed off to clear the entire area of lurking danger, but always stayed within earshot in case she required rescuing. I’d bark once in a while to let her know where I was. She’d woof back. I wish she wouldn’t.

“WOOF, WOOF! … WOOF, WOOF!”

All the other dogs in the area laugh at her. The toy poodles down the road stick their heads out their growly machine window when they pass us and go, “woof, woof! … woof, woof!”

It’s so embarrassing.

But I think the poodles were too scared to come out this morning. It really looked spooky out.

I’m kinda proud of Elizabeth. I’ve decided to believe she’s brave rather than stupid to venture out into the clouds when they sink. And she got some nice pictures, I think:

Bud's family's floating land extender. They park their floating tin cans here - I think, yes, there's one parked there in the photo!

Bud’s family’s floating land extender. They park their floating tin cans here – I think, yes, there’s one parked there in the photo!

Some really strange things were forcing their way up from underground, too. Danger everywhere! Beware!

Some really strange things were forcing their way up from underground, too. Danger everywhere! Beware!

I bet their were Sneaky Deer hiding down there on the pipeline. Oh, I wish Elizabeth would stick with me on our walks...

I bet there were Sneaky Deer hiding down there on the pipeline. Oh, I wish Elizabeth would stick with me on our walks…

Bud's house through the fog from the old gravel path. That's a nice looking watching rock, eh? I wouldn't mind one of those in my back yard...

Bud’s house through the fog from the old gravel path. That’s a nice looking watching rock, eh? I wouldn’t mind one of those in my back yard…

Walking up the old gravel path to the estate boundary with Al's & Joanne's estate.

Walking up the old gravel path to the boundary between Al’s & Joanne’s estate and ours. The Wiley Wolf Gang like this route. But I have chased them away already!

By the time Elizabeth got to our gravel path, the cloud was beginning to lift a bit and the sun was getting higher in the sky. She took a bit of a risk going down the electric path since I was below it chasing lurkers in every direction. One could easily have come up the hill and surprised her!

The ghostly forest on the upper side of the electric path.

The ghostly forest on the upper side of the electric path.

Her usual luck held, though. The only attackers came from the North – the ghoulish Kibble Snatching Flappers descended upon her. But Elizabeth actually likes them, and she had kibble on hand (literally) to appease their appetites.

An annoying and, today, ghoulish looking Kibble Snatching Flapper.

An annoying and, today, ghoulish looking Kibble Snatching Flapper.

Feathers dampened by fallen clouds, but still a cocky imp.

Feathers dampened by fallen clouds, but still a cocky imp.

Comments on: "Pea Soup Breakfast Appetiser" (4)

  1. Kathy DeGagné said:

    Great pics, Elizabeth! Did Stella chase away all the sneaky critters?

    • Thank you, Kathy! She tried awfully hard. As we were coming to work we passed the dog-catcher going in toward our place. I wonder if someone reported her for all the racket she was making, LOL.Foiled again!

  2. Stella, you made my biped laugh at the thought of Elizabeth barking.
    But I hear you, it’s difficult to protect then when they’re so unaware of danger! I suppose it’s a sort of compliment to us – we do such a good job of keeping them safe that they have no idea of the dangers lurking everywhere.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

