The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

My string of vet-free days has grown too long.

Last night, I had another. . . Accident. I don’t think it’s really bad, but I need stitches. And it hurts.

I spent the night in the two-legger house, not just with Elizabeth, but also wearing her T-Shirt under Dr. Celia’s orders. It’s my first time wearing this much human fur. I’m not sure I like it.

Me sporting Elizabeth's Louis L'Amour T-shirt. She thinks it's most in keeping with my Bookshop Dog role in life.

Me sporting Elizabeth’s Louis L’Amour T-shirt. She thinks it’s most in keeping with my Bookshop Dog role in life.

I was able to have my bedtime chicken and cookie, and I got a little watered down goat’s milk, too. But I couldn’t eat or drink anything before going to the vets’ this morning.

I'm almost never too sick for a cookie. Hey, who'd have guessed Elizabeth and I wear the same size clothing!

I’m almost never too sick for a cookie. Hey, who’d have guessed Elizabeth and I wear the same size clothing!

Kay tried to make me feel a bit better by saying I looked better in Elizabeth's T-Shirt that she does.

Kay tried to make me feel a bit better by saying I looked better in Elizabeth’s T-Shirt that she does.

By the time you are all reading this, I’ll be sleeping at the vets’ while Dr. Celia sews me back up again. She’s done that before, but she hasn’t had to make me go to sleep before. I’m a bit nervous, but I know they are all working to make me better.

Wish me luck!

Comments on: "Am I a Dog, or a Dork?" (12)

  1. I do wish you luck, Stella! I hope all goes well. You look kind of cute in that T-shirt. I hope you don’t have to wear a cone when you come home again. Take it easy for a while.

  2. Good luck! Please feel better soon and I hope it hurts not long and all stitches will heal quickly. A yellow shirt is always good, now you are a little sun on 4 legs :o)

  3. Sherrell fick said:

    You are cute stella. Sorry you had to go through this, but maybe lots of cookies when you wake up. Have fun re-couperating this weekend.

  4. Thank you for your uplifting comments, folks.
    I just had a call from the vets’ office, where Stella is currently undergoing surgery. It seems the wound is not superficial, but penetrated much deeper than I thought. The vet’s assistant assured me that the surgery is going well. I’ll know more about what happened later today I hope.
    Stella is incredibly tough and a real stoic. And she is in the excellent hands of people who have also grown to love her.
    I’m sure she’ll be in touch once she gets home!

    • Vet just called again. Stella is now in recovery. It was a nasty, dirty puncture (probably ran into a broken branch) but now it is clean and they’ve put a drain in it, and yes, Stella is going to be a conehead again for a few days…

  5. My sympathies, Stella. I remember those ‘conehead’ days and I didn’t like them. I know the two-leggeds say it is the best way for us to heal. I hope you won’t find it too uncomfortable, because we (Susan and I) want you to get better as quickly as you can.
    – your friend, Salem

  6. De Cunningham. (@skye613) said:

    So glad to hear Stella came through well.

  7. Oh no, so sorry to hear this happened but thankfully you’re through the surgery and on the mend now. You sure do look attractive in that cute t-shirt, but then can’t imagine you not looking attractive regardless of what you wear or not. Get well soon. wag wag, Max& Bella & biped Paulette

    • Aw… Thank you for the encouragement and kind sentiments, Paulette. Stella thumps a couple of tail wags back to Max and Bella. She’s busy resting now!

  8. oh no you poor thing, get well soon xx

  9. Stella, you’ll be the envy of all the dogs, wearing a cone, the latest fashion, as I’ve told Murphy in the past. Is it in vogue, in Paris? Or perhaps a tulip costume for Halloween? Glad you’re on the mend.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

