The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

So. You’ve all heard how my Accident turned out to be more serious than Elizabeth originally thought. Dr. Celia told her that I must take 10 days at least away from my normal duties as Head of Security on the Campbell Estate. Not only that, but she discarded the T-shirt you all thought looked so cute on me and has given me yet another “look”: Dog Grunge, complete with head gear and a zipper and pipes where the T-shirt was. And I’ve been shaved. Again.

I don’t know. It just isn’t me. I don’t want to hurt Dr. Celia’s feelings. I’m sure she did an excellent job. But the new look leaves me feeling a bit… inadequate. A bit… depressed.

Winter is coming, and my wool takes a long time to grow, so I’m also worried that I might have trouble when the temperature drops to the -30C I usually thrive in.

Most of all, though, I want to be out on patrol. It’s my favourite job. But Elizabeth says no way. We had a bit of a discussion about it this morning. I was so un-up-to taking my usual I’m Alpha Dog stance, that I grudgingly had to admit she was right.

“Why don’t you come and help me in the Kitchen, Stella? I really should have a supervisor. I think you should do that while you’re off duty for a while!”

Well… I’m good at eating.

I decided to give it a go. I usually sleep While Elizabeth is cooking, but today… Well, we did a photo doc for you!

Get ready to COOK mini

First, you need to get ready to cook. How do you like my new look, BTW? The head gear also doubles as a sneeze guard in the Kitchen, where observing proper hygiene is very important.

Elizabeth went out into the garden to get some tomatoes, then she chopped and sliced and thawed and so on until everything was ready for cooking.

Elizabeth went out into the garden to get some tomatoes, then she chopped and sliced and thawed and so on until everything was ready for cooking.

 

Here's the veggie sauce well underway. OH! She's forgotten to put the best part in - the cheese. Excuse me while I go and tell her...

Here’s the veggie sauce well underway. OH! She’s forgotten to put the best part in – the cheese. Excuse me while I go and tell her…

 

Halfway through the cooking time, you need to take the yam chips out of the oven and turn them. Yam chips are really good, although the ones I eat are usually dried rather than baked. But these smell pretty yummy!

Halfway through the cooking time, you need to take the yam chips out of the oven and turn them. Yam chips are really good, although the ones I eat are usually dried rather than baked. But these smell pretty yummy!

 

The boring bit is waiting for everything to cook.

The boring bit is waiting for everything to cook.

 

Oh, I almost forgot to remind Elizabeth when to put the eggs on to poach. Good thing she remembered to get them ready!

Oh, I almost forgot to remind Elizabeth when to put the eggs on to poach. Good thing she remembered to get them ready!

 

Now, folks. This is the reeeeally important bit. Presentation is everything so, get it right!

Now, folks. This is the reeeeally important bit. Presentation is everything so, get it right!

 

Ta Da! Hey... wait a minute! Where's mine?

Ta Da! Hey… wait a minute! Where’s mine?

 

Cooking two-legger food is a lot more work than I realised. Time for a rest!

Cooking two-legger food is a lot more work than I realised. Time for a rest!

Comments on: "Security Snafu = Job Change" (20)

  1. I’m glad you’re back at home and beginning your recovery. I don’t think you need to worry about security too much, I’m sure most bad creatures know to keep clear of your place.
    Wearing a cone is a pain, I had trouble getting through doorways at first when I had one!
    I always supervise what’s going on in the kitchen. I keep the kitchen floor clean for them, but I guess that could be a bit of a challenge while you’re wearing that cone.
    Make sure to make your feelings about the cone known by bashing it into their legs! You don’t want them to forget to remove it when you’re better!
    I hope you’re soon back to full health.

    • Thank you, Clowie! Yes, I’m having that problem with doors, too. And I knocked a lamp over yesterday.
      I tried out your suggestion of cone bashing the two-leggers’ legs. You’re right; it’s most satisfying. I actually got it positioned around Elizabeth’s hind quarters, pushed her to the door and pinned her there until she agreed to take me for [ANOTHER] walk.
      Seven more dog weeks before I see Dr. Celia about getting the stitches out…

  2. You look great with your new “loudspeaker”, you could be your own ipod now. I hope it heals quickly and the stolen fur will grow back till winter. I agree with you, to cook for bipeds is exhausting, specially when you “forgot” your portion :o)

    • Thank you for your kind wishes, Easy. Loudspeaker? Hmm. I’ll try barking more and see if you’re right. I’ve noticed everything seems louder in here, but I didn’t realise it would make me sound louder, too. What a wonderful thought!

  3. Poor Stella! I know what it’s like to be denied going outside and have to be stuck in the house. I also sympathize about the cone. I hated when I had to wear one. Supervising in the kitchen is all well and good, but I find my two-leggeds don’t watch where they step. Susan moves so quickly when she’s cooking she often doesn’t see me sitting there. I need to be constantly on guard or she’ll step on me. Maybe it’s because I’m a lot smaller than you, that she just doesn’t see me when she turns around. I hope you heal quickly and your fur grows back enough to allow you back out on patrol.

    – your friend, Salem

    • Thank you, Salem! Elizabeth is pretty good about avoiding me in the Kitchen, but Kay… she is always tripping over me! So, Elizabeth usually does something else with me and Kay slides part of the wall out to keep me out of her way.

  4. From Chloe the cat. It was such a nice day my keeper decided I should be allowed out a bit. for the first time since I arrived in her shelter. She attired me in a stupid belled blue collar and followed me around. I tried to escape but she caught me. Then she carried me about the yard as if I were a kitten and took me inside. removing the collar. She wants me to learn that blue collar with bell= going outside. Ha! I sneaked out twice without the collar. She closed the door securely after the second excursion. But…. hours later she found the dead junco on the little oriental rug near the tv. She congratulated me on having a soft mouth but she does not appreciate the gifts I have brought to her including a live toad I found in the basement a couple of weeks ago.

  5. Wishing you a speedy recovery!
    Also, I am going to need to pick up some of those egg-poaching cups! Genius!

  6. Oh yuck…not the cone AND confinement. Hope you heal up real soon.

    And now I’m in the mood for some poached eggs. Yum!

  7. You look better than Queen Victoria ever did in that collar. Oh that food looks so doggggggggone yummy! Can we come over? BOL Sending healing vibes to your tummy and hair that it grows back fast to keep you warm when you’re back on patrol duty. wag wag, Max & Bella

    • Oh, thank you! You’ve made my day!
      Elizabeth says I’d better get well soon. She’s just discovered we’ve had destructive two-legger invaders on the north portion of the estate! GRRRR I’m going to bite them if I catch them! GRRRR

  8. If anyone can pull that look off it is you, hope you feel better soon!

  9. Poor you having to wear the cone of shame, hope you make a superfast recovery

    • Thank you, Misaki. I think I’m well enough to resume my usual duties now, but Elizabeth thinks not. She says. “I’m Alpha Dog now, Stella. You’re staying inside or on the leash!”

      35 dog days to go before Dr. Celia rules on the crisis….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

