The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Walk Carefully…

If you are a regular here, you will be aware that I regard Sneaky Deer as dangerous, intrusive and, well… sneaky. Elizabeth took a photograph this morning that proves I’m right. This big buck was so sneaky that I missed him. Not that I could have done much from inside my ‘run’. And Elizabeth was silly enough to step out into the morning fog without me. I had no idea what she was up to when she walked past the path to my house, camera in hand. I thought she was taking another of her tree pictures, even when I heard her mutter, “****! I wish I had my telephoto with me!”

Go and get it, I thought. I’m not going to say anything out loud when she’s in that sort of mood!

Now I see why she didn’t go back for it, though. She had to take the shot and hope. ‘Cause Sneaky Deer, particularly Sneaky Deer bucks, are very sneaky this time of year. Blink, as you two-leggers say, and they’re gone!

This is the actual photo Elizabeth took. Can you see him? He's pretty sneaky...

This is the actual photo Elizabeth took. Can you see him? He’s pretty sneaky…

She blew the photo up a bit (not the buck, unfortunately. He's still out there sneaking). Can you see him now?

She blew the photo up a bit (not the buck, unfortunately. He’s still out there sneaking). Can you see him now?

There he is! This was the most she could blow up the photo for you. He's big, and at this time of year, he could be even more dangerous than he usually is. I'm glad she didn't try going closer.

There he is! This was the most she could blow up the photo for you. He’s big, and at this time of year, he could be even more dangerous than he usually is. I’m glad she didn’t try going closer.

Comments on: "Walk Carefully…" (6)

  1. Yes we saw him! wag wag wag wag Max & Bella

  2. I love that photo, well done Elizabeth!

  3. He is so sneaky, trying to blend into the early morning mist like that! I can see that estate security is beginning to play on your mind, Stella. I wish I could hop over the Atlantic and make a quick patrol for you.

    • Oh, i wish you could, too, Clowie! The Sneaky Deer ignored my bark (knows I can’t follow through, clever fellow) and ate some of Elizabeth’s carrots and all of Kay’s rhubarb Sunday night. GRRR… I hope he gets a tummy ache!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

