The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Thanksgiving Holiday

Elizabeth tells me that when she was a two-legger pup, she went to school. So did I, actually. But at her school, the teacher made students write essays on how they celebrated special days two-leggers have called ‘holidays’. Sunday was Thanksgiving Day, and two-leggers here get a holiday on the next day so they can travel back from home. They call it the ‘Thanksgiving Weekend’.

I find it rather awkward to hold a writing tool, but I have my faithful scribe who, by her own admission, has had a lot of practice with this sort of thing. So, today I thought I’d tell you how I spent my Monday off, seeing as I didn’t have to travel anywhere.

You’ve already seen how it started for Elizabeth yesterday. After photographing the deer, she took another picture of some trees I can see from my house:

I have a nice view from my house if I keep my head up. That's something to be thankful for.

I have a nice view from my house if I keep my head up. That’s something to be thankful for.

Then we went for our usual morning perambulation. That’s a big two-legger word that sounds like I walk – one syllable for each footstep and a fifth for a wag of my tail! BOL

The leaves are still pretty, but we did get a touch of frost for Thanksgiving. And when the breeze blows, the leaves rain from the sky. But it was calm this morning, and all day. Here are some views from along our walk:

Light at the End of the Tunnel mini

When we got back to the house, the mist was thinning quickly.

When we got back to the house, the mist was thinning quickly.

After breakfast, it was work hard all day in the garden. Well, it was for the two-leggers. They took me on a couple of walks through the day, but I mostly lay in my cone and sighed, got up, rattled the cone on a door or some furniture, flopped onto the floor (that’s much noisier than it reads), sighed again and slept for most of the day.

Elizabeth took me for a quick walk after lunch. She felt sad for me, so she decided to tie my leash to the post at the end of the walkway so I could hang out with her while she harvested the last of the carrot crop. Kay and Malcolm were working at the back garden, so Elizabeth took some photos to show me what they were doing:

Malcolm was dealing with the tangle of tomatillo plants...

Malcolm was dealing with the tangle of tomatillo plants…

then he'd hand the branches to Kay and she'd start plucking the fruit. She got nearly 2.5 gallons from four plants!

then he’d hand the branches to Kay and she’d start plucking the fruit. She got nearly 2.5 gallons from four plants!

The Kibble Snatching Flappers came by, and even though Elizabeth gave them some kibble to keep them busy, I thought I maybe should watch the carrots a little more closely… just in case.

Me guarding the carrots while they dry.

Me guarding the carrots while they dry.

But I'd really rather be chasing deer....

But I’d really rather be chasing deer….

Elizabeth thought she’d cheer me up.

Elizabeth stuck this peculiar carrot in the walkway and said, "Here lies the road to Rome..." and looked at me for a tail wag. I don't get it. Sorry.

Elizabeth stuck this peculiar carrot in the walkway and said, “Here lies the road to Rome…” and looked at me for a tail wag. I don’t get it. Sorry.

But what about that view!

Even when it's cloudy out, it's just so beautiful here. And that's something we are all very thankful for!

Even when it’s cloudy out, it’s just so beautiful here. And that’s something we are all very thankful for!

Thank you, Lord, for all the blessings we share: for beauty, for change, for safety, for friends, for food, for home. Please help us to share some of these blessings with all the two- and four-leggers we meet everyday. Amen.

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Holiday" (7)

  1. My biped laughed about the road to Rome. I don’t get it either, Stella – it’s probably some biped thing that doesn’t matter at all! Your trees are very pretty in the autumn and that last photo in particular is stunning!

    • Thank you Clowie! I’m so relieved. You’re probably right about the carrot joke. Food really isn’t something one should play with. Two-leggers can be very odd. I’m glad you like our view!

  2. Your part of the world looks so amazing through Elizabeth’s lens, Stella. I thought the one of the crazy carrot in the walkway was pretty funny. I liked the ones of you standing guard and the photos of the colourful trees are beautiful. I love to chase the leaves as they fall and skitter across the yard, but I usually have a leash on because when I was younger I used to chase them into the street. Susan says that’s dangerous because I don’t look out for those big rumbly metal things.

    Susan visited her brother, yesterday, and told me my ‘cousin’ Molly, her brother’s Golden Retriever, got hurt last week and is hobbling around with a cut on her foot from stepping on some glass when she went on an outing with a friend, so you’re not alone in the injury department. There are many unsafe things in the world beyond the house, but I still wish I could be outside more. I hope you’re almost healed, Stella. Take care out there. 🙂

    – Salem

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

