The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Not quite a Wordless Wednesday.

It’s very cold in my Boreal Realm these days. As my faithful scribe types, I am dictating from the other side of her wall hole, where it is a bit warmer than it was yesterday, but still a pleasantly chilling, wool-raising -35C with a windchill that makes it feel more like -42C (that’s -46F to American woofers). Definitely not short coat weather.

So, since Elizabeth doesn’t function in such cold, I thought I’d get her to post some of last year’s sneaky deer moments for your viewing pleasure. While she’s doing that, I’m going to run off and clear a few more problem areas under some of our pine trees…

A young buck puzzled by the new garden fence and enticed by the smells beyond...

A young buck puzzled by the new garden fence and enticed by the smells beyond…

Later that evening. Still trying to figure out a way in. Not the sharpest antlers on the rack...

Later that evening. Still trying to figure out a way in. Not the sharpest antlers on the rack…

Intruder caught red-handed . . . sort of. They really do their best at being sneaky!

Intruder caught red-handed . . . sort of. They really do their best at being sneaky!

A morning walk - on our way to the new security camera.

A morning walk – on our way to the new security camera.

I want my breakfast. Elizabeth is just to slow. She's keeping me on the lead because it's that time of year when the bucks get aggressive. As if I don't know about all of that!

I want my breakfast. Elizabeth is just too slow. She’s keeping me on the lead because it’s that time of year when the bucks get aggressive. As if I don’t know about all of that!

Still not getting great sneaky deer photos. This one is sneaking

Still not getting great sneaky deer photos. This one is sneaking just above the shadow on the left. Kudos if you catch him!

Elizabeth has made a New Year’s Resolution to get some great wildlife candids on the new security camera for you to see this year. I’ll see if I can chase some intruders by for you, too. Gotta do my part!

Happy New Year, everybody!

~:oP=

Comments on: "Happy N-n-n-ew Year! Brrr…" (4)

  1. Your weather sounds like heaven to me!
    Good luck chasing those intruders!

  2. Renée de Bruin said:

    Happy New Year, Stella and Elizabeth, from the Netherlands! Stay cool and stay warm, respectively!

    • BOL! Temperature is up today to -29C with Windchill factored in, and we’re expecting another 15 cm of snow. Everything is just PAWFECTLY WONDERFUL, in other words. ~:o)=

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

