The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

We’re still having some grrrreat weather here in my Boreal Forest kingdom. On Friday, the temperatures went up alarmingly from -35C to -13C, but the rising red line on the thermometer came with an Alberta Clipper, which dumped another 15cm of fluffy white stuff! My model Pyrenees Mountain Range is already awesome. I can’t wait to see what it looks like after Rob the Snowman’s next visit. Elizabeth thinks I should maybe think Himalayan…

By Friday night, we were well and truly snowed in (again!). Elizabeth went to the door to call me in for bedtime…

Bedtime? No, no, it's playtime! Come play with me!

Bedtime? Surely you mean playtime? Come play with me!

She doesn’t seem to like the dark much. When we go out at night, she always needs to either light up the whole yard or carry a light with her. I don’t think her eyes work too well in the dark… Tonight, since her paws were full of camera, she lit the whole yard up. The snow was really coming down, so it looked rather magical, I think. Hope you like our pictures!

I'm the only one that uses the stairs in the winter. Well, sometimes the Sneaky Deer do, too...

I’m the only one that uses the stairs in the winter. Well, sometimes the Sneaky Deer do, too…

The trees are getting blankets for the colder weather the weatherman says is on its way.

The trees are getting blankets for the colder weather the weatherman says is on its way.

Speaking of blankets… Didn’t I hear someone say it was bedtime?

I am feeling a little bit tired... Goodnight, all!

I am feeling a little bit tired… Goodnight, all!

Comments on: "A Little Night Moving" (10)

  1. Oh your snow looks like icing sugar, have you tried if it is sweet?

    • I’m always sampling it, especially after I’ve been on a more rigourous patrol, Easy. It isn’t sweet, but it is very cold and wet in my mouth. Sometimes it forms snowballs on my wool, or iceballs between my toes. I like to pull those off and chew on them. Love the sound and the cold wet going down to my tummy!

  2. Good to see you pop in over cyber horizons. You’re looking good, Stella. The snow becomes you. 🙂 Happy New Year to you and your bipeds.

  3. Your snow is so beautiful xx

  4. The snow looks beautiful. Your temperatures sound a bit cold for the bipeds though.

    • *SIGH* Truthfully, so am I. I don’t stay out nearly as long as I did at first. The cold is making my feet hurt, and when I stand still, then I DO feel the cold! On the up side, I’m spending lots of time cuddling with my two-leggers (they’re always cold, even in the house!) and working at the book shop.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

