The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Wednesday Walk Talk

I caught someone up our gravel path yesterday.

Who's That

Who’s that?

Somehow, Elizabeth snuck out of the two-legger house while I was out barking at something important elsewhere. She got me to run all the way back by barking in a strange dog voice that got me very curious…

I wasn’t angry with her though. It’s been ages since Elizabeth has been able to go for a walk with me. It was good to go on an outing with her. I got so excited that I actually ran right past her. I had a little trouble stopping ’cause the path is packed fluffy white stuff and slippery. Eventually, though, we got our pace set and off we went.

Sure feels good to be out walking with my favourite two-legger again!

Sure feels good to be out walking with my favourite two-legger again!

I thought maybe it would be nice to go our old off-road route, where we had the snowshoe trail last year. Remember?

Can we go this way, please? BOL

Can we go this way, please?

But Elizabeth said, “Not today, Stella.”

I wonder why? BOL!

I wonder why? BOL!

I decided to run on ahead a bit. Elizabeth had to stop to take some photos that were, uhm…, well, just a little bit embarrassing for me. You see, I’d gone for a walk with Kay the day before and had asked her the same question. I tried to show her it would be okay…

It was not as easy as I thought...

It was not as easy as I thought…

There is a technique involved in this kind of cross-country travel: Leap, breathe. Leap, breathe. Leap, breathe. Eventually, you give up and come back to the gravel path.

There is a technique involved in this kind of cross-country travel: Leap, sit, breathe. Leap, sit, breathe. Leap, sit, breathe. Eventually, you give up and come back to the gravel path.

I came back to find Elizabeth taking a photo of our little and ever-narrowing gravel path. The growly beast just fits. Elizabeth says we’d better not get any more snow. But I smell more coming…

These days, I pull my head in the window when we're on our rides and reach this point.

These days, I pull my head in the window when we’re on our rides and reach this point.

Just a short walk today. But it was fun!

The rush home for supper!

The rush home for supper. See you soon!

Comments on: "Wednesday Walk Talk" (6)

  1. Lil Anderson said:

    Looks like Stella was having a blast. Nice photos of her too.li

  2. You do look happy, Stella! I can see that the smaller path would take quite a lot of work to pack it down so that a biped could walk it – you’d probably have to dig her out of a snowdrift!

  3. You look so happy in the snow Stella!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

