The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Morning patrols on the Campbell Estate are a bit easier lately – if I get out early enough. The fluffy white stuff is melting during the day, but at night the temperatures still drop well below freezing and a thick crust forms. I like to take some time after a full patrol, which I often do at high speeds, just to relax and absorb the cold from the surface.

As the day goes on, the white stuff on the roof of the  two-leggers’ house begins to thaw a bit, and the splashy white stuff that forms sinks through to the roof surface. Elizabeth says the mass becomes like a miniature glacier in the mountains, and it slowly slides to the edge of the roof, where it breaks off and shatters on the walkway, much to everyone’s chagrin. I like it though – must be my Mountain Dog genes. I like crunching on the chunks of icy white stuff! I find it very refreshing. I don’t like the noise it makes when a big piece falls off. But it’s good that it makes noise so everyone can move out of the way.

Mostly the two-leggers stay inside at this time of the year. It’s too wet and mushy for them, and the crust doesn’t hold up too well under them. But they had to park the growly machine at the top of the little gravel path yesterday because the wet white stuff grabs the wheels and tries to pull the growly beast into my Model Pyrenees Mountain Range! They got stuck trying to get Elizabeth and I to work on Saturday… It was fun watching from my seat while they eventually figured out how to get the beast moving again! The long and the short is that we are getting in a few more walks together as a result, and that’s always a good thing.

Today I thought I’d leave you with some pictures of me relaxing after my morning patrol. As you can see, there’s still lots of the not-so-fluffy-anymore white stuff out there, and I’m going to enjoy it as much as I can for as long as it lasts!

Just chilling after a brisk run.

Just chilling after a brisk run.

 

Although we're on the cusp of Spring here in Northwestern Ontario, there's still a lot of white everywhere!

Although we’re on the cusp of Spring here in Northwestern Ontario, there’s still a lot of white everywhere!

 

I called this Winter Wind Up, but I always strategically place myself down wind ... Something smells dangerous! I'm off!

I called this Morning Patrol Wind Down, but I always strategically place myself down wind (BOL) … Something smells dangerous! I’m off!

Comments on: "Morning Patrol Wind Down" (5)

  1. Very wise to place yourself downwind while you’re relaxing!
    The Pigs xx

  2. You look so lovely in the snow

  3. The snow still looks beautiful, Stella. Enjoy it while you can.
    I understand the art of relaxing while still keeping nose, eyes and ears alert in case of danger.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

