The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Spring is not my favourite time of year, in case you haven’t picked up on it yet.

  • The fluffy white stuff does a disappearing act
  • It gets too warm out
  • I seem to spend an increasing amount of time on the leash
  • By the time Elizabeth allows me to go off leash again, I can’t run on the river anymore
  • I have no privacy when I do my business (I must do it on leash or hold it forever)

There is an up side, though.

  • Elizabeth and I start walking together a lot more
  • The two-leggers start opening the windows on the growly beast when we go for rides

The other day, we went for a ride to the place where the two-leggers get their mail. It was a fine day for a ride.

I do love a ride in the growly beast.

I do love a ride in the growly beast.

Then we went to one of my favourite places – the building where the two-leggers get their big mail (I like it because it’s near Doyle the Dog Food Man’s shop, and so we see a lot of two-leggers out walking their dogs here…).

Keeping an eye on goings on while Kay is in the big mail building.

Keeping an eye on goings on while Kay is in the big mail building. Not many dogs around today…

Saying hello to a passerby. He was very nice, but he didn't have his dog with him.

Saying hello to a passerby. He was very nice, but he didn’t have his dog with him.

 

On the way home, Elizabeth asked Kay to stop the car early so she could take me for a walk. It’s still pretty miserable walking in the woods – at least for two-leggers, so we spend a lot of our walking time on the gravel paths for now. Let me show you what I mean, and how things are changing around here. I asked Elizabeth to take some photos for you.

The tunnels under the gravel path are thawing out, so the water can run through them again. This has resulted in some rather odd-looking ice floes...

The tunnels under the gravel paths are thawing out, so the accumulating splashy wet stuff can run through them again. This has resulted in some rather odd-looking ice floes as the splashy wet stuff recedes…

This is what happens to the fluffy white stuff in spring. It turns to splashy wet stuff and runs away. I wonder if it finds Winter somewhere else?

This is what happens to the fluffy white stuff in spring. It turns to splashy wet stuff and runs away (I wonder if it finds Winter somewhere else?). On its way, it cuts paths wherever it goes, except on the bedrock. Here it is cutting a way through the Big Gravel Path.

There is still lots of fluffy white stuff in the woods. *sigh* If only I could get to it. I wish I didn't have to stay on the leash all the time.

There is still lots of fluffy white stuff in the woods. *sigh* If only I could get to it. I wish I didn’t have to stay on the leash all the time.

We were taking so long to come home that Kay began to wonder what we were up to. So, she decided to come out and meet us. We found her resting at the top of a hill on the Little Gravel Path. She was ready to come home by the time we arrived, so I was able to finish the afternoon outing walking with my two favourite two-leggers. It would’ve been even better if we could’ve walked through some fluffy white stuff, but I’m trying not to complain, BOL!

Look who we found on the way home! I waited with Kay while Elizabeth took our picture along the Little Gravel Path.

Look who we found on the way home! I waited with Kay while Elizabeth took our picture along the Little Gravel Path.

 

Comments on: "Just Another Spring Day…" (10)

  1. Looks like you had a pawesome walk! Certainly looks chilly though, all the wet-white-fluffy-stuff has gone from here now, yippee!
    The Pigs xx

  2. I like to visit the places near the dogfood-store too. I always imagine all the big bags they pick up in the store would be for me! btw: I just realized how big you are as I saw you in the car :o) Have a super spring-tuesday!

    • LOL. Yes, that’s a great fantasy, Easy. And yes, I am big. My two-leggers have been ordered by the vet to make me five pounds smaller – Blasto dogs have a tendency to be on the fat side, so we must watch. I’m 112 pounds even though I’m very active and don’t eat too much… One can never eat too much, though, can they? ~:o)=

      • you never can eat too much , I agree. I’m “just” 88 lbs and I just imagine the face of my mom when I had 112 lbs…because I’m a lapdog :o) Spring is a great time for diets, I’m sure you will lose that 5 lbs in zilch.

      • BOL. I’m a big cuddler, too. Two-legger laps, though? Bit of a tight squeeze for me! BOLOL

  3. It’s easy to understand why so few Great Pyrenees make Hawaii their home. If I see a “patch of white fluff”, it’s my dog.

  4. You do look happy in the car! I love going for a ride – sometimes they take me somewhere new and sometimes it’s one of my old favourites, but it’s always fun!

    • I like feeling the wind in my wool without having to run. It’s especially nice when it gets hot in the summer. And there are all kinds of interesting smells as we move along, too.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

