The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Soggy Doggy

It’s Spring. Elizabeth says the old adage needs to be modified this year to May showers bring June flowers.

The sky is so weighted down and soggy that it's touching the treetops today.

The sky is so weighted down and soggy that it’s touching the treetops today.

But just because it’s wet and cold doesn’t mean that nothing is going on. We’re keeping busy. For example, Elizabeth took my new ‘aunt’ out on a photo safari to capture photographs of what sogginess looks like in my Boreal realm. I’ll post the results tomorrow, otherwise you will be overwhelmed today, I think.

The gravel path is dry enough that we can go for longer walks with Kay now. Interesting things are happening in the neighbourhood. Several lots and houses are up for sale. And the mansion at the end of a big gravel sidepath is slowly coming closer to completion. Elizabeth says it’s like a Mediaeval cathedral. The building of it is taking forever.

They are going to put stone where the grey stuff is. And, OH LOOK! That's snow in piles at the front of the mansion! (Too bad you-know-who won't let me off the leash to play in it...)

They are going to put stone where the grey stuff is on the walls. And, OH LOOK! That’s snow in piles at the front of the mansion! (Too bad you-know-who won’t let me off the leash to play in it…) Remember what it looked like when I first showed you? Click here.

Willow trees (and poplars and birches) are in bloom but not too much else.

Blooming Willow

A willow along one of our walks.

But Elizabeth is busy at work in her garden and is beginning to see some greenery emerge:

The Rhubarb is doing very well on its own, thank you. Elizabeth gets angry when if you sleep in it though...

The Rhubarb is doing very well on its own, thank you. Elizabeth gets angry when if you sleep in it though…

Warming things up a little for the new plant puppies.

Warming things up a little for the new plant puppies.

Peeping Tom Thumb Pea pups.

Peeping Tom Thumb Pea pups.

Gardens ready to sow.

Gardens ready to sow.

Radish pups.

Radish pups.

Kay’s been busy, too, in her greenhouse:

Kay at work in her Greenhouse

Kay at work in her Greenhouse

She's proud of her efforts so far.

She’s proud of her efforts so far.

MMMM... She's even got some strawberry action happening! The chipmunks won't get these ones. ~:od=

MMMM… She’s even got some strawberry action happening! The chipmunks won’t get these ones. ~:od=

I managed to find some more yard work that needs to be taken care of:

Kay used to grow potatoes in these old tires. I think they should take them away now that we have new potato beds.

Kay used to grow potatoes in these old tires. I think they should take them away now that we have new potato beds.

Kay’s a bit embarrassed that I found those. “Come up here, Stella!” Malcolm set up a new bench for the two-leggers while he was here for a visit.

Did you say, "COOKIE"? I'm sure I heard you say "COOKIE"...

Did you say, “COOKIE”? I’m sure I heard you say “COOKIE”…

They like to sit there and look at the view:

It's a bit soggy and bleak right now, but it will improve as the seasons progress.

It’s a bit soggy and bleak right now, but it will improve as the seasons progress.

Hope you enjoyed the Spring Tour!

Comments on: "Soggy Doggy" (10)

  1. Kay’s greenhouse is great! The strawberry plant looks tasty even without strawberries! do you like fruits? me not, I’m more the “meat-guy” :o)

  2. I enjoyed the tour very much! Good luck with the eatable garden!

  3. I used to eat all the strawberries from the plants when I was a pup! I ask for them now if the bipeds are eating them, but if they give me one I give them a disgusted look.

    • It never does to let them know just how much you like something, Clowie. I think sometimes they are inclined to use that information against us…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

