The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Spring this year is about a month late, so Mother Nature is rushing to catch up. The bees are busy looking for food among the new dandelions and pussy willows. But just this week more flowers have started to bloom. Long-necked Flapper grazing is getting a bit crowded at the neighbours’, so they have started wandering up to our lawn. Kay isn’t too happy although she likes to see the wildlife. Long-necked Flappers leave a big mess behind them. They eat clover and pump out clay, Elizabeth says. She caught them in the yard yesterday. They aren’t like park Long-necked Flappers – these are wild and fly away as soon as they see humans. Or me.

~:o}=

Elizabeth had to be verrrry sneaky to get this photo of the Canada Long Necked Flappers.

Elizabeth had to be verrrry sneaky to get this photo of the Canada Long-necked Flappers.

The leaves started to come out on the trees last week, too! So now it is much easier for me to find a shady spot to snooze in. It seems like we’ve gone from Winter directly into Summer this year. One day there’s snow on the ground, then a couple of days later the temperature soars into the high 20C range (75F or so). I can’t find any snow anywhere, now, and my wool hasn’t started to blow out yet. So, I need some shade between swims. Thankfully, Elizabeth always finds me a nice shady spot to snooze in while she takes photos.

This was a nice spot... Shady AND a twig to munch on! I like to hold them steady between my front paws while I gnaw on them.

This was a nice spot… Shady AND a twig to munch on! I like to hold them steady between my front paws while I gnaw on them.

There is always a lot going on in my Boreal queendom but, in the non-Winter seasons, my two-legger scribe is able to get out more and record changes more frequently. I’ve been wondering how to take advantage of this for some time. Elizabeth is always out these days, working on her garden or going for walks with her camera and me. She doesn’t think anyone would be interested in what she’s taking photographs of. I think these things are interesting, though. They are part of my world. How better to show you what’s happening in it? Problem is persuading The Scribe.

So, I’ve come up with an idea. I need your help, though… Let us know what you think. Elizabeth has been working for years on a botanical field guide for this area of the country and is trying hard to get it finished. She says we need one because no other field guide covers this area. She says three major zones of North America meet here, so two-leggers need to have at least three guides with them when they visit us: Boreal Forest, Laurentian Forest and Great Plains.

I was scratching my head the other day – not because it helped me to think; I have a wood tick bite on my jawline – when I came up with an idea for her (entirely coincedental). “Why don’t we do a Wildflower Wednesday and a Fungal Friday every week? We could do a Timber Tuesday once in a while, too!” Since she thought it would force her to get out and take more photographs – “Deadlines always help,” she said – she’d give it a go. She’s concerned that you might get tired of it, but I assured her that it is only for the Spring and Summer months and maybe a bit into the Autumn. So, we’re going to try it. Starting tomorrow! Come visit us and let us know what you think. Do you have similar things growing where you live? Do you use them for anything, or just like to look at them? Let us know!

Hey! I just heard another sign of Spring. That sounds like the city grader going by to scrape away all the frost boils and potholes on the Big Gravel Path! Gotta go check it out! See you later!

Hey! I just heard another sign of Spring. That sounds like the city grader growler going by to scrape away all the frost boils and potholes on the Big Gravel Path! Gotta go check it out! See you later!

Comments on: "Changes in the Neighbourhood" (10)

  1. Imagine, here in the Netherlands, and most of Europe, Spring is a month early! I like your idea, Stella, and i hope Elizabeth can cope with it! Looking forward to the results.

  2. a fungal friday sounds great, we have such a guy on a bench in my garden and no clue about his name (I said maybe Fungulius, but my mom said I’m a doofus) :o)

  3. Love the idea of wildflower wednesday:-)

  4. Love this idea especially the wildflowers!

  5. Enjoy the shade, Stella! I know what it’s like when the weather warms up quickly and you haven’t had time to shed your winter coat!
    I have an idea for you for the winter – Snowy Saturday and Snowier Sunday!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

