The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Wildflower Wednesday 8

We found another of the more exotic and less common wildflowers on the estate this week. We are still having some wind challenges – the flowers are blowing a bit and Elizabeth says it’s hard to get them sharp when that happens. Kay says it’s a poor workman who blames his tools… BOL.

[Scribal note: I wasn’t blaming my tools. I was blaming the wind. There’s a difference…]

Shinleaf - Pyrola elliptica. Elizabeth really loves these little flowers. She says that one of the times she really misses her sense of smell is when she finds one of these in bloom.

Shinleaf – Pyrola elliptica. Elizabeth really loves these little flowers. She says that one of the times she really misses her sense of smell is when she finds one of these in bloom.

 

So, I decided to get in a little closer for a good sniff. I nearly floated away...

So, I decided to get in a little closer for a good sniff. I nearly floated away…

 

This isn't really a wildflower photo, but I liked the way the sun was shining on the grass at sunset last evening. We were on our goodnight ride, and I asked Elizabeth to take a photo for you.  She even got down so you could see it from my vantage point! I love it when she does that for me. She's a good girl. BOL

This isn’t really a wildflower photo, but I liked the way the sun was shining on the grass at sunset last evening. We were on our goodnight ride, and I asked Elizabeth to take a photo for you. She even got down so you could see it from my vantage point! I love it when she does that for me. She’s a good girl. BOL

We’ll find some more for next week!

Comments on: "Wildflower Wednesday 8" (6)

  1. I never saw this plant before… we have one what looks similar, but it has yellow flowers :o)

    • We have a pink variety and one on which the flowers are only on one side of the stem. Both of them are harder to find than this type. We’re going to go hunting for them this week. Elizabeth promised.

  2. That last photo is stunning!!

  3. I love that last photo! It would be a lot more challenging to get down to your vantage point if you were small, BOL!

    • Scribal comment: True, but it’s almost easier for this battered body to get up from prone position than from a squat! lol Stella does her utmost to keep me in shape!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

