The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

We’ve been busy looking for flowers to show you tomorrow. Yesterday we went on a little shoreline walk. It’s still much closer than it usually is. In fact, the water has only gone down an 2-5 cm over the last week. So, the shoreline flowers are not the usual variety at all.

I got a bit bored with photography – it involves a lot more sitting around than I appreciate – so I went on a patrol of the neighbouring shoreline properties. Everyone had gone home now that the weekend is over. Sometimes they go but they leave interesting things behind. Like last week, for example, someone left a partially eaten corn cob for me to take home and snack on… until Elizabeth found me chomping on it.  ~:o/=  She muttered something about genetically modified compost fodder and tossed it into the rotten food machine.

There was something strange on the next cove up from our bay, and I started to bark. Elizabeth called me back.

When I finished barking… I found her, still taking photographs. I thought maybe she’d like to come over with me and see that strange thing I was barking about. But, before I could persuade her, I was distracted by a movement in the shallows.

Whoa! What's THAT?

Whoa! What’s THAT?

"That's a crayfish, Stella."

“That’s a crayfish, Stella.”

I know a lot of two-leggers seem to like eating things that live in the river.

Hmmm.... Does it taste good?

Hmmm…. Does it taste good?

Elizabeth suggested I try catching one to sample. She said some two-leggers like them….

So, I decided to go Crawdaddin'. Unfortunately, I didn't have much luck. Next time, I must try a different approach.

So, I decided to go Crawdaddin’. Unfortunately, I didn’t have much luck. Next time, I must try a different approach.

Elizabeth says I can eat all that I want. There were scores of them scooting around; some of them seemed to be eating and others seemed to be busy trying to scare each other. As soon as I got into the water, they all used their tails to propel themselves into crevices in the bedrock and into gaps under submerged stones.

Apparently, these are not the species of crayfish that used to live here when Elizabeth was a two-legger pup. She says that they were much prettier. The ones we saw today have been brought in by fishermen who use them as bait. They are a very voracious species, and they have killed off all of our indigenous crayfish, clams, eaten all our ‘sea’ weed and heaven knows what else.

I wonder why two-leggers couldn’t use the crayfish that belong here as bait. The fish got by just fine eating them since long before fishermen came along. Judging from the number of crayfish I saw on that stretch of bedrock, the local fish don’t have much of an appetite for these newcomers….

Two-leggers often leave me shaking my head. Seems they don’t have much sense when it comes to living in the world around them. Always trying to manage and improve on things that worked just fine since the dawn of time. And what happens? Everywhere they go, two-leggers leave messes behind that everyone else must contend with. What is the matter with them?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

