The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Here I am at work once more. I needed a rest after the weekend. There was SO much going on, and I always seemed to be getting in the way (that never happens!). I even got stepped on. Ouch. But I was a good sport about it since it didn’t hurt too much.

Saturday, The Foyer Apses, otherwise known as The Windows, underwent a face-lift. If you recall, the front of the building used to be Extreme Tanning Salon. Their decor was also Extreme Tan – Chocolate Brown in fact – everywhere. That colour just sucks the life out of the place. Two-leggers would walk by our shop and it was so dark inside that they’d think we were closed. That meant they’d keep on walking instead of coming in and buying me some dog food (Where did you think all our earnings go? Vacations in the Caribbean? You’re thinking of Bonnie. She doesn’t have a dog.).

Last fall Elizabeth took out the flooring in the window and had some linoleum laid instead. I like it. It’s grey. It looks like my sleeping rock in the summer. But she left the walls Chocolate Brown. I couldn’t figure out why when she had held a whip over Bonnie getting her to hurry up and paint The Foyer. But on Saturday, I found out. She needed to sell enough books to both feed me AND hire a carpenter and buy the special wall board for a renovated window wall. Then Elizabeth and I took a day off. When we came back, Bonnie had painted the windows. Now they match The Foyer, and they look much prettier!

That special board means Elizabeth and Bonnie can build better and more interesting displays in the windows now. And it just looks so much more... AAAHHH... in a tail thumping kind of way.

That special board means Elizabeth and Bonnie can build better and more interesting displays in the windows now. And it just looks so much more… AAAHHH… in a tail thumping kind of way.

Bonnie has gone to look for a “wee man” to help watch Elizabeth’s Window while she and I are at home. When he comes, we’ll take a photo and post it so you can see what the window looks like when there’s stuff in it. Like books. And a “wee man”.

I’ll have another episode ready for you in a couple of days, so get your popcorn ready.

~:oj=

Comments on: "Downton Kenora: Episode 3: Construction Detour" (4)

  1. I like it too, it looks a little like my fur… shall I come and sit in that window for a while ?

    • Depends on whether you get on with the “wee man” and how good you are at jumping. The windows are up a bit from floor level. I’m sure you’d be more popular than a “wee man”. People around here love dogs. What is a “wee man” anyway?

  2. I get stood on sometimes as well! They say it’s because I “get in the way”, but in reality I’m doing my job of keeping a close eye on everything for their protection.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

