The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

I hope you don’t find today’s episode boring. I warned the Scribe that you might. She doesn’t listen very well. [Kind of like someone else we know?]

Today, we’re heading back in our guided tour, back from The Foyer and into the first room off The Gallery (I’ll show you that later), back into what I say is

soooo last season!

soooo last season!

The Christmas Room.

I think they should call it the Winter Room. I know I would find that more interesting. Bring some snow in and make it genuinely wintry. Now that has potential! Instead, B&E (that’s Bonnie and Elizabeth, not break and enter!) have done this as a compromise:

Not a real tree. Just a painting of snow. They are beautiful paintings by local artists, but still not the real thing...

Not a real tree. Just a painting of snow. They are beautiful paintings by local artists but, still, not the real thing…

After taking this picture, the Scribe got a little fed up with my attitude. I guess I can’t blame her. She works hard to make things look nice, and her goal is not to achieve real winter. She says I can go outside and experience that. I can have all I want of it when we get home. “Show some spirit, Stella!” she said.

“We aren’t even open yet.”

Then she got an idea. I hate it when Elizabeth gets ideas.

“Why don’t you take a photo?” Not a good idea at all. Look what happens:

I really did take this photo. I stepped on the remote. "Wait!" cried the Scribe, "We need to move that box first..." Too late.

I really did take this photo. I stepped on the remote. “Wait!” cried the Scribe, “We need to move that box first…” Too late.

I went back outside – not Outside into Winter. Just outside the Christmas Room. It’s too small for both of us.

Elizabeth took another picture from two-legger viewpoint. Just so all the other dogs who read this can see what's up on top of the table.

Elizabeth took another picture from two-legger viewpoint. Just so all the other dogs who read this can see what’s up on top of the table.

Look, another lesser Black Cawing Flapper! He’s not real, either. Neither is the Snowman.

One last corner and we’re done:

The cards and books and other interesting little Christmassy/wintry things.

The cards and books and other interesting little Christmassy/wintry things.

Oh! And there’s the Christmas Wreath hiding in the corner. Elizabeth says she’d better get that bagged and stored ’til next Christmas.

That’s today’s tour. Just one great big tease, if you ask me (today’s supposed to be my day off to play in the snow).

 

Comments on: "Downton Kenora: Episode 4: Going Back" (6)

  1. I love the snow room I had no clue that the light purple/blue/white of the paintings fits so great with the walls! and the box under the table makes is authentic and real. I love it !!!

    • Thank you Easy. My first photograph. I’ll have to get a fancy headwarmer and call myself an Artiste now. BOL
      Snow Room. That’s an even better name….

  2. Looks like Dakota was visiting your store. LOL

  3. It does look very nice. I don’t know what was wrong with your photo, Stella. It’s typical of a biped to say something should be moved first – if they didn’t want it in the photo they shouldn’t have left it there!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

