The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Turn that Noise OFF!

I think it’s weird how, after all the time I’ve spent in this family, they still don’t believe me when I tell them something strange and potentially dangerous is going on.

“WOOF! WOOF!”

“Oh Stella. Quiet. That’s just a train,” or, “Hush up, Stella. That’s just mom in the kitchen,” or today, “Ssssh! Stella, be quiet. That’s just a helicopter going over!”

Well, yes. It is just a helicopter going over. But it’s doing something dangerous. And it’s doing it over, and over, and over… “WOOF! WOOF!”

“Good grief!” says Elizabeth some time later. “Why does it sound like a war zone out there?”

Good question, two-legger. “WOOF! WOOF!” Here it comes again.

Finally, Elizabeth sees what I’ve been trying to tell her.

Go get your camera, two-legger! I want you to eat crow. Tell the world how I’m not an hysterical Great Newfenees after all.

Elizabeth mumbles something and, finally, does what I tell her. As she’s setting up the camera for the shot, she comments, “Looks like we have some new well-heeled neighbours moving in, Stella.”

Well-heeled? Whatever it is, doesn't look like it has much choice! I tell you, you'd never get me on a leash way up there like that!

Well-heeled? Whatever it is, doesn’t look like it has much choice! I tell you, you’d never get me on a leash way up there like that!

Comments on: "Turn that Noise OFF!" (8)

  1. In the late summer, we often have helichopters flying very low over the valley. They are looking for horticultural plantations that might possibily be illegal but very lucerative. We too like to bark at them and scare them away.

    • We have that happening here once-in-a-while, too! Say, Jasper… Elizabeth’s brother and his young family just landed in New Zealand. Keep an eye open for them. They’re backpacking with a toddler and a two month-old baby. May need some guarding along the way, but they wouldn’t take me with them! Something about a bill for cleaning out the rental car they took to the airport… ~:o|=

  2. skye613 said:

    I am so glad to see you back every now and then.

    • Thank you! Life has changed so much over the last year or so, it’s hard to keep the writing up. It’s great to hear people are still keeping an eye open for me. 🙂

  3. great to hear from you… that are bark-able events I’m with Stella :o)

  4. Bipeds always think they know best, just one of their many flaws! They can’t see danger till it’s staring them in the face. It’s so obviously silly to argue with you about a potential threat, but I do know how you feel!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

