The adventuresome life of a Great Pyrenees/Newfoundland dog in Northwestern Ontario

Last night was terrible. I hardly got any sleep at all. Something was going on outside. Something very noisy. Every few minutes, it would pop, or creak, snap, or crunch.

Let’s be clear. I am not talking about Elizabeth’s knees here. She wasn’t even moving until I woke her up around midnight to make her aware of the situation out there.

Sometimes it sounded like someone was walking out on our balcony. Sometimes they were jumping on the roof, I think. Once it even sounded like someone was tapping loudly on the bedroom window. That last one really startled me.

As the night went on, I grew increasingly agitated. When Elizabeth told me to lie down and go to sleep, I went over to Kay’s room to try to get her to check on what was happening. She just snored back at me.

I pounced on Elizabeth’s bed, which, most of the time, doubles as my own. At first, Elizabeth spent some time trying to make me feel better. By five, though, she was getting a bit rude. I don’t understand why she was so cranky. I was just doing my job. And I was truly unnerved by all the strange snaps and pops. It was kind of like those banging lights the summer people like so much. They drive me round the bend with anxiety. By five o’clock, I was panting constantly and pacing wherever I found a little space. I tried hiding under the bed, but I’m too big for that.

At five, Elizabeth got so fed up with my distress that she told me to go outside and “see for yourself, Stella. There’s nobody there!”

I tore out the door and ran round the house, into the woods and over to Al and Joanne’s. Elizabeth was right. There was nobody anywhere. I was out until almost seven making absolutely sure. Then I was too hungry to care about anything other than eating.

And I was getting cold. Last night when we came home from the bookshop, it was -7 C. By midnight, the temperature had dropped to -22 C. Elizabeth says that the rapid drop in temperature was what was making the house and decking creak and make all those strange noises. I’m not so sure. I think it must have been aliens. I couldn’t check the rooftop, where a lot of activity seemed to occur, for tracks.

We’ve had a very busy day today. We’re both very tired. And now, as we near closing time, it is really beginning to show.

I found the camera and took this picture of Elizabeth this afternoon.Don't drool on the computer, Elizabeth! We need it to write my blog!

I found the camera and took this picture of Elizabeth this afternoon.Don’t drool on the computer, Elizabeth! We need it to write my blog!

She got even when she found my quiet place in the storage cupboard under the stairs...

She got even when she found my quiet place in the storage cupboard under the stairs…

 

Comments on: "Things That Go Creak in the Night" (4)

  1. I guessed it… that nobody is wellknown for making such noises… I chased him some nights ago too… but that nobody can run very fast, right?

    • You’ve got it, Easy. Although someone else told me it must have been someone called Jack Frost. But I couldn’t smell or see any trace of anyone…

  2. Nobody and Jack Frost are troublemakers! Jack Frost is a particularly slippery character. If you do manage to catch him, give him a nip or two for me – that’ll teach him not to nip my bipeds’ fingers and toes ever again.

    • He is often in our neighbourhood, Clowie. As you say, though, he’s a slippery character. I never thought to give him a taste of his own medicine! Hmmm… I’ll see if I can catch him. ~:o|=

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

